News Release: Recipients of 2 Lifetime Achievement Awards and Roger Phillips Chamber Builder Award

September 26, 2017
Recipients of 2 Lifetime Achievement Awards and Roger Phillips Chamber Builder Award Announced for 2017 ABEX Awards
Lifetime Achievement Awarded to Bruce Johnstone
The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has achieved distinction in their field and whose expertise has helped to shape the Saskatchewan business landscape. The 34th ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, will mark the award’s first year.
Bruce Johnstone will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for excellence in his journalism career.
After graduating from the University of Saskatchewan with a degree in English, Bruce Johnstone worked for the provincial government for a brief period of time. He then began as a reporter in Estevan before moving to Regina and working as a general reporter, labour reporter, and feature writer. In 1983, Bruce joined the Leader-Post business department and led the newspaper’s business coverage for over 30 years.
Bruce Johnstone has received awards from the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (CIM), the Canadian Association of Financial Planners and the Saskatchewan Reporters' Association.
“For his unique perspective to business reporting in Saskatchewan, which showcased the great opportunities for investment and business in our province, we at the Chamber are pleased to present Bruce Johnstone with this Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Steve McLellan, CEO of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.
Lifetime Achievement Awarded to Doug Elliot
Doug Elliot will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for his unique contribution to the Saskatchewan economy by providing valuable data for investors and businesses.
Doug Elliot is a dedicated mathematician and statistician, whose wide-ranging analysis on Saskatchewan’s demographics, labour markets and other economic indicators have created a solid, information-based foundation for the growth and development of businesses in Saskatchewan.
Educated at the University of Regina in mathematics and statistics, Doug Elliott is a well-respected interpreter on provincial issues with First Nations, private organizations, and local, provincial and federal governments as clients. He is the owner of QED Information Systems and publishes the Sask Trends Monitor.
“Doug’s unique voice and in-depth analysis of the provinces indicators has been a valuable part of Saskatchewan’s economic growth,” said Steve McLellan, CEO of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.
Roger Phillips Chamber Builder Awarded to Kent Smith-Windsor
The Roger Philips Chamber Builder Award is named in honor of Mr. Roger Phillips, who originated the ABEX Awards 34 years ago. The Award is presented to an individual with a long-standing history of committing time, thought leadership and guidance to the chamber network in Saskatchewan.
This year’s recipient of the 2017 Roger Phillips Chamber Builder Award is Kent Smith-Windsor. During his 21 years as Executive Director of the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce, Smith-Windsor made remarkable contributions to his community, province, and country and has worked to strengthen the Chamber network from coast to coast. The Chamber of Commerce Executives of Canada honoured Kent in 2005 with the Canada Executive of the Year Award for his visionary leadership in the business community.
“Kent has been a solid community leader. The work he has done made the Chamber network stronger throughout his tenure and will serve us well into the future. I couldn’t be more thrilled to see Kent’s hard work and time commitment to his community recognized in this way," Darla Lindbjerg, President and CEO of the Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce.
Tickets for ABEX 2017, presented by Conexus Credit Union, can be purchased online at:
For further information contact:
Steve McLellan, CEO                                             
Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce                  
Tel.: 306.781.3122                                              

SCC Communications
(306) 352-2671