News Release: 5/12/2016 Shawna Nelson inducted as Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce Chair

May 12, 2016
Shawna Nelson inducted as Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce Chair in Saskatoon

Shawna Nelson, Director of Sales and Marketing at the Sheraton Cavalier in Saskatoon was 
inducted as the 2015-16 Chair of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce at the Chair’s 
Luncheon on May 12, 2016. The Chair’s Luncheon concluded the SCC Annual Conference in 

Ms. Nelson, a sales and marketing professional who has more than 24 years of experience in 
the hotel and hospitality industry, has a history of strategic leadership to develop engaged and 
passionate teams, and deliver effective results. As the Chair of the “Voice of Business” in 
Saskatchewan, she will lead a cohesive and committed team as it continues its work to enhance 
the effectiveness and advancement of the province’s business community.

Ms. Nelson is keenly active in her community, volunteering with organizations including Lawson 
Heights School Home and School Association and School Community Council, Saskatoon 
Women’s Network, Convention Saskatoon Advisory Council with Tourism Saskatoon, Saskatoon 
Chamber of Commerce, The Princess Shop, Children’s Hospital of Saskatchewan Jeans and 
Jewels Major Fundraiser Gala, Canadian Country Music Awards, and many others.  
“Shawna has been a great asset to the Board of Directors of the Sask Chamber,” said CEO Steve 
McLellan. “We look forward to her enthusiasm and energy at the helm of the organization. “She 
will provide great leadership as we continue to advance our policy objectives on behalf of the 
business community, and maximize Saskatchewan’s potential as the best place to live, work and 

At the same event, Patricia Warsaba, Partner at McKercher LLP (Regina) was sworn in as the 
Sask Chamber’s 1st Vice-Chair for the year, and Michael Cossar, C.A. (Saskatoon) took the oath 
as the 2nd Vice-Chair. 2015-16 Chair, Randy Beattie, President & CEO of PFM Capital (Regina)
will serve as Immediate Past Chair.

Effective May 12, the Sask Chamber welcomed two new Board members, Natashia Stinka, 
Manager, Corporate Services at Canpotex Limited (Regina) and Tim Schroh, Chief Operating
Officer, Affinity Credit Union Ltd. (Saskatoon), replacing outgoing Board members Trina Warren, 
MNP LLP (Regina) and outgoing Immediate Past-Chair Bruce Anderson, b-creative group 
(Regina). Previous Board member Greg Hanwell, Partner/Marketing at Beer Bros. Gastropub & 
Deli (Regina) retained his position on the Board.

They will join the remaining Board members Clayton Veresh (Deloitte LLP); Kendal Netmaker 
(Neechie Gear Inc); Peter Clarke (Seed Hawk Inc.); Monica Kreuger (Global Infobrokers Inc.); 
Ricardo Silva; and Sean Young (Young’s Equipment Inc.) 
Steve McLellan, CEO
(306) 352-2671